So…today I was given a bag of condoms…..

At 15 years old, having to go see a nurse about the pill was scary and embarrassing and made you feel like you were suddenly in a story line on Hollyoaks.

By the time you hit 30, it is boring and mundane but a necessary task and talking about your eggs and your womb with a perfect stranger is just something you have to do.

I can bet that by the time you are 30, if you are anything like me you will have been through a smorgasbord of different contraceptive pills, all with varying degrees of success; tried to get to grips with condoms and have probably been spoken to about implants, IUD/IUS’s and injections.

Confusing right?  So when you do find one that you like and more importantly, that works, when told that you may not be able to have it anymore, it can be quite upsetting.

Add to that that for the first time in 15 years, you have a little purple bag of condoms thrust at you and it can all be a bit overwhelming at 8:20 in the morning.

Anyone that has read my other blogs regarding children will know that I am not looking to join the Motherhood anytime soon so being told that my body is now after 3 years rejecting my favourite baby barrier was a little upsetting, incredibly scary and over all else frustrating.

To find a pill that works for you is like looking for diamonds in the snow, so when depo-provera was introduced to me, I thought all my prayers had been answered.  Three period free years later and I start getting headaches, dizziness, nausea, interrupted sleep, fainting, low blood pressure…….if it is found on the side effect list, then I was experiencing it.

The nurse took one look at my symptoms and refused to give me my injection.  I think I actually had a little cry at one point, but I will blame my hormones on that!

The next thing to happen was the conversation about an IUD or the coil as it is more commonly known and for those who don’t know, it is a small, usually copper device shaped like a T that is inserted through your cervix and sits in your womb, stopping the egg, sperm or a fertalised egg from being able to survive in the uterus.

This should be a no brainer for me.  No condoms, no babies and it lasts for 10 years.  So why am I still thinking about it?

Well, for starters it hurts when they fit it.  More so I hear if you haven’t had children as your cervix may be tighter shut than someone who has given birth.  Not appealing.

It can make your periods heavy and painful.  As mine were awful before being on depo this also didn’t appeal to me at all but I have to admit, the thought of having an object inside my body that shouldn’t be there was what freaked me out the most.  And yes, I am aware that the synthetic hormones in most contraception shouldn’t be there either, but that is in some way different.  It’s not a solid thing that can be dislodged or poke where it shouldn’t.

Another benefit of the coil is that it has no hormones.  There is one that has a hormone in it but since I was having adverse and quite serious reactions to hormones, I would only be offered the non hormonal, copper version.

It appears on asking around both friends, friends of friends, the internet and healthcare professionals that the coil is being pushed more and more for women for many, many reasons and that a lot of you may at some point, end up having the same conversation as I have had and have the same internal struggles about whether it is for you or not.

All I will say is I still haven’t decided and am currently still completely undecided, so would love to hear your experiences and thoughts that may help me with my decision.

One thing I will say is, after a decade of trying different hormonal contraceptions, it is actually a lovely break to feel normal again and be off the roller coaster of emotions that I have been riding for such a large portion of my life

Leave a Reply

