Fruit Water and Healthy Snacks

With my trip to Barcelona less than three months away, it’s time to ramp up the pace with my healthy diet and my exercise.  I haven’t written about it much as I don’t want to become just a fitness blog as I enjoy writing about a wide variety of subjects but this week has been awash with new flavours and recipes that I have enjoyed so much that I wanted to share them with you.

11085147_1479338315649073_1764140054_nMy egg muffins are a solid breakfast this week, with every day seeing them being made with a slightly different mixture of herbs, spices and veggies and for tomorrows weekend brunch I’m going to mix it up a bit and try Baked Egg Avocados with Bacon.  I found this recipe on Pinterest and it looks too good to say no to!

The main thing that I want to share with you guys is fruit infused water.  A friend of mine tagged me in a post on Facebook about a girl at their gym that had bought a water bottle filled with fresh fruit and it looked amazing so I had to try it.  £20 and a heavy and colourful shopping basket later and I was at home with an array of fruits and herbs to try.

I’ve always found smoothies too heavy and too sweet for my liking so the idea of a lighter way to get my five a day in was immediately appealing.

There are only four this week as I only discovered it Monday night, but I am going to be carrying this on all of next week as well, and will be taking it to the gym with me over the weekend to see if it hydrates me more effectively.

Tuesday Morning was a simple one, but only in ingredients, definitely not in taste!  I had four bacon, spinach pepper and onion egg muffins with this for my complete breakfast and ate the fruit afterwards as well 🙂

Orange and Blueberry:IMG_0521

You will need

  • One large Jaffa Orange
  • One handful of frozen blueberries
  • 500ml water (I use tap but you can use bottled as well)
  • A shaker bottle with a mesh for catching the bits

This really couldn’t be simpler.  Just put everything together in the bottle and leave in the fridge overnight.  In the morning you have a great tasting water, that has the vitamins from the fruit in it!  Voila!

I’ll list the ingredients for the next three but won’t bother putting a method again as it is the same every time! By the way, I got my bottle at Poundland however, I have also seen them in Sainsburys and Tesco.

Wednesday was basil, strawberry and lemon which was so refreshing.  I already drink a LOT of lemon water but this added a little something extra.  I had this with a large white coffee, a large orange and 2 egg and spinach muffins.

IMG_0528Strawberry, Lemon and Basil:

You will need:

  • 3 x Strawberries
  • Half a lemon |(depending on taste.  I like mine quite sharp, but Mark said his was too sharp so I did a quarter lemon in his)
  • 6 large basil leaves
  • 500ml water

Thursday was by FAR my favourite and was the most refreshing and summery one of the lot, however I did keep catching myself thinking of a Pimms!!

This one I had with egg, onion and bacon muffins and a handful of roasted chickpeas that I had made the night before.  Just rinsed off some tinned chickpeas, rolled on a lightly olive oil greased baking tray and cooked at 200 degrees C for 30 minutes.

Strawberry, Mint and Cucumber:IMG_0537

You will need:

  • 3 x strawberries
  • 8 x fresh mint leaves
  • 8 thinly sliced pieces of cucumber
  • 500ml of water

Today’s I am quite excited about as I love pink grapefruit and am sat here sipping away on it as I type!  I have two egg, chive, onion and bacon muffins, a banana and a coconut protein flapjack to munch throughout the morning as well and I have to say it is a lush way to start a Friday morning 🙂

IMG_0540Pink Grapefruit and Rosemary:

You will need:

  • Half a pink grapefruit
  • 5 small sprigs of fresh Rosemary
  • 500ml water

I am loving these water infusions and I can see them being a big part of my daily food intake for a while, so will be keeping you update as I go.  If you have any recipe ideas for me to try then please let me know!!

Liked this blog?  Subscribe by email and receive new blog posts into your inbox!

8 thoughts on “Fruit Water and Healthy Snacks

  1. I have an idea. Why don’t you give me your ticket to Barcelona and you come to America and run my blog for me, lol. Alas, that wouldn’t work because I don’t have a passport and the ticket would be useless since I live in America. One can dream right? 😉

    1. Haha, first holiday in two years and very much needed so I’ll keep my place lol 🙂 Get a passport and get yourself to Europe though babe!! It’s amazing!! I’m off to Italy twice next year!

  2. That fruit infused water looks so refreshing! I love adding lemon and mint to my water, but I need to get more creative! I bet the grapefruit and rosemary is amazing!

    1. It really is Miranda! I have to say that I will be adding cucumber to my gym bottle from now on, even if I don’t put anything else with it! Let me know how you get on with your experimenting 🙂

  3. Can I just tell you that all the recipes listed are all nickel free. I am in awe at your accidental perfection. You made my day, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

