Discovering Egg Muffins!

11085147_1479338315649073_1764140054_nOk, so as this has proved to be quite popular on my social networks I thought I would do a little blog about them!

This is not my recipe, although I have tweaked it a bit to fit my personal taste, so before anyone jumps up and accuses me of recipe stealing, I will fully credit the website that I used to begin with 🙂 http://hemandhers.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/healthy-start.html

I found their recipe on Pinterest and have been meaning to make these little egg muffins for a while but it has only been this week that I have started to play about with them and this mornings were by far the best!

Light, fluffy and oh so tasty, they are best warm but are just as delicious cold and are easy to scoff on the go or at your desk.

So, I’m gonna share my tweaked recipe, but feel free to check out the link above and see if theirs is more suited to you dietary and taste wise.  Either way, they are great!

FrickingVikki’s Tweaked Egg Muffins!

This makes 8 smallish muffins

You will need:

  • 4 medium eggs
  • Half a red onion, diced small
  • A handful of diced red and yellow peppers
  • A small handful of spinach, I cut mine with scissors as thin as I can
  •  1 slice of lean bacon
  • 2 dashes of Tabasco Sauce
  • Paprika

Put all the ingredients into a bowl and whisk with a fork until light and slightly bubbly.  I did my first lot with a whisk and all my ingredients got stuck inside so the fork won!

Heat your oven to about 200 degrees c.  My first few attempts I used a muffin tin greased with one spray of Frylight, however they got stuck and lost all their air, so I tried silicon cake cases and they worked so much better.  You can pop them out from below and the added bonus is no extra fat from the grease as you don’t need it!

Put you silicon cases on a baking tray and half fill each with your mixture.  Put in the middle of your oven for about 12 minutes, however I do advise you check them regularly as all ovens vary.  I know mine are done as they go golden brown and are fluffy and springy when you touch them.

I put mine in the oven and go have a shower, or do my lunch prep and then they’re ready by the time I’m done 🙂

Pop them out of the case and leave to cool slightly on a plate or in a tub and away you go!

IMG_0521Like I said, easy quick and a great source of protein and veg in a handy bite size muffin! I paired mine this morning with a coffee with almond milk and an orange and blueberry water I had made the night before for a full rounded breakfast of champions!!

13 thoughts on “Discovering Egg Muffins!

  1. Wow! These look so tasty and so simple!

    I tried making these before with a different recipe and they were just messy, but I see a key here is making sure the ingredients are finely chopped. Thanks for your tweaked recipe! I will have to try this.

    Cheers!

    1. You’re welcome Jenn! Definitely do the silicone cups as well a they make them look and taste so much better! Send me a picture when you’ve done it I’d love to see how they turned out! 🙂

    1. So so easy guys! I have my jug in the fridge all ready with all the veg cut up. All I have to do is put the eggs in tomorrow and bake and then out the door I go! 🙂 I wanna see pics of all your attemps guys!! 😄

  2. Looks yummy! I made green egg muffins like these once for st. Patrick’s day. I used spinach to make them green. These are a fun and easy breakfast. 🙂

    1. Great idea! I do more veggies than meat in mine, I think they;re nicer and the meat can sometimes weight down the egg as it cooks and loses water! My friends kid had sweet ones last night! She wanted fruit in hers! Not for me but she said they were delicious!

Leave a Reply

